sirilyan�dotcom > ( Personal | Articles | Links | Email ) sirilyan�dotcom
sirilyan.diaryland.com > ( Latest�entry | Archive | Profile )

But wait, there's more.

There's just no polite way to say "Buy me things", is there?

Join codebastards, I dare you. Remember, codebastards are us.

I'm baded and jitter. So are these people. (And why not follow the previous, next, or random links?)

Need a band name?

Doug vs. Japanese Snack Foods: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

rant is where the heart is

diaryland: sirilyan.diaryland.com: entry for 2004-02-27 (13:00)
In which our plucky young hero couldn't find a better rhyme for "York".

Joey and Adina present the challenge. And I rise to meet it:

(To the tune of "Home For A Rest", Spirit of the West)

You'll have to excuse me
I'm still not my best
I've been here near two years
And it's not yet time to rest
Those so-called other cities can all eat my dust
This is the city that cures all my lusts

I arrived in October and Toronto was cold
Had a map that said Yonge Street was the longest of roads
DIdn't know which was the Annex and which was East York
I sang to myself "And they think they're New York"

CHORUS:
You'll have to excuse me
I'm still not my best
I've been here near two years
And it's not yet time to rest
Those so-called other cities can all eat my dust
Toronto's the city that cures all my lusts
Now I'm home

Bloor-Yonge station, subway journey east
Speed through a dark tunnel like a quicksilver beast
Past Castle Frank and into bright open air
Look down on the Parkway with nary a care

(Chorus)

By the light of the moon, I walk up Queen Street
Streetcars pass me by, a rocket-red fleet
I sing as I glide past the Rivoli's doors
Then it's into the Horseshoe to do it some more

(Chorus)

My apartment stands empty as I live out my life
In Cockney at least I've no trouble and strife
905 annoys me and my pockets have holes
But Toronto's still the place that fills up my soul

(Chorus)

(Browse: previous or next. Notes: post or read.)

sirilyan.diaryland.com | sirilyan dotcom
anything said in lowercase sounds profound. say it to me.

[fiendish tracking device]