sirilyan�dotcom > ( Personal | Articles | Links | Email ) sirilyan�dotcom
sirilyan.diaryland.com > ( Latest�entry | Archive | Profile )

But wait, there's more.

There's just no polite way to say "Buy me things", is there?

Join codebastards, I dare you. Remember, codebastards are us.

I'm baded and jitter. So are these people. (And why not follow the previous, next, or random links?)

Need a band name?

Doug vs. Japanese Snack Foods: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

rant is where the heart is

diaryland: sirilyan.diaryland.com: entry for 2003-03-22 (13:35)
In which our plucky young hero sends a memo.

To: the guy who was just speaking to the peace rally at the U.S. consulate

From: Doug, who is sitting at home watching it on CP24

Re: your spittle-flecked remarks about how Americans are irrational and stupid, and they should just get the hell out of Canada, and nobody wants them here and nobody likes them and they're all a bunch of bloodthirsty savages, and did you know that there are more people in prison in the U.S. than in any other country and somehow this is relevant to the war in Iraq, and on and on and on

This is not helping. This is the exact opposite of helping. This is making me happy that I stayed home today, instead of going out to listen to you rant and spew. Do you want smaller crowds and fewer protesters and quieter cheers? Because that is what you are getting.

Shut the hell up. You are preaching to the converted. In fact, you are alienating the converted. You are making me question my stance against the war, because if anyone as stupid and hate-filled as you is opposed to it, then maybe it isn't such a bad idea after all. You are making it that much less likely that I will care about this cause, or any other of your pet causes, at any time in the future. (And don't think I don't know what your pet causes are, even though I don't even know your name. You wear your institutional prejudices on your sleeve.) You are telling me that all of my American friends are stupid, barbaric vampires, and I know that's wrong, and I know you know that's wrong, so I can only conclude you're lying to me. Which makes me wonder what else you're lying about. Especially involving Iraq.

War is wrong, and hate is wrong. And there is no goddamn "except when it's Americans, who are all world-raping automatons who march in lockstep with their president, who as we all know is the Antichrist" footnote to that statement.

Oh, and can you pass on to all those members of the crowd who were lustily cheering every single one of your venom-filled inanities that they can all go jump off a cliff for all I care?

Love,
Doug

P.S.: Somehow, I've managed to still not join the war hawks. Which says a lot more about my powers of consistency than your powers of persuasion.

(Browse: previous or next. Notes: post or read.)

sirilyan.diaryland.com | sirilyan dotcom
anything said in lowercase sounds profound. say it to me.

[fiendish tracking device]