sirilyan�dotcom > ( Personal | Articles | Links | Email ) sirilyan�dotcom
sirilyan.diaryland.com > ( Latest�entry | Archive | Profile )

But wait, there's more.

There's just no polite way to say "Buy me things", is there?

Join codebastards, I dare you. Remember, codebastards are us.

I'm baded and jitter. So are these people. (And why not follow the previous, next, or random links?)

Need a band name?

Doug vs. Japanese Snack Foods: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

rant is where the heart is

diaryland: sirilyan.diaryland.com: entry for 2002-02-13 (19:24:00)
In which our plucky young hero shows how it will be done in the future.

While I work on getting the food diary design finalized, here's a sneak preview of the style I'll be using.

Bolognese sauce with wine
(makes about 3 cups, I think)

Ingredients:

Prep:

Brown the ground beef and transfer to a pot. Dice the tomato as small as possible and add to pot. Pour olive oil and tomato puree over contents of pot. Stir through to blend thoroughly, then add cream (or cream and wine). Bring to a low boil and allow to reduce until most of the liquid on top is gone (usually takes me about 40 minutes). If adding garlic, dice garlic and add at the 30-minute mark so it can mingle with the sauce, but not lose its bite.

Hints:

Try mixing in chili or curry powder with the beef before browning, if you want a subdued, but spicy, undercurrent of taste.

Try extending this recipe by adding other types of meat - ground pork or chicken might be good, and I'd like to try ground lamb.

The wine I used the first time I made this with wine is a Wolf Blass 2000 Cabernet Sauvignon Yellow Label - $18.75 a bottle Canadian.

(Browse: previous or next. Notes: post or read.)

sirilyan.diaryland.com | sirilyan dotcom
anything said in lowercase sounds profound. say it to me.

[fiendish tracking device]