sirilyan�dotcom > ( Personal | Articles | Links | Email ) sirilyan�dotcom
sirilyan.diaryland.com > ( Latest�entry | Archive | Profile )

But wait, there's more.

There's just no polite way to say "Buy me things", is there?

Join codebastards, I dare you. Remember, codebastards are us.

I'm baded and jitter. So are these people. (And why not follow the previous, next, or random links?)

Need a band name?

Doug vs. Japanese Snack Foods: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

rant is where the heart is

diaryland: sirilyan.diaryland.com: entry for 2002-01-04 (07:03:00)
In which our plucky young hero wants to know what's so funny.

Bulk Cheese Warehouse.

What's so funny about the name? Everyone seems amused, or amazed, or puzzled at my plan to go down to Broadway and buy myself some nice cheeses at the Bulk Cheese Warehouse, Saskatoon's only retail cheese shop. (Ardie pointed out the name sounded a little too generic. Feh. See if I buy her anything at Downtown Liquor Store.)

Anyway, I figured that the cheese shop couldn't be that much more expensive than buying the same cheeses at the supermarket, and would probably produce better quality.

I turned out, of course, to be so totally right. The mozzarella I bought was a mere eleven dollars a kilogram and very tasty, there are multiple varieties of Parmesan cheese for sale (ranging in price from $20 to $50 a kilogram), and I even bought a nice large supply of curry powder for about a buck fifty.

All of this, of course, combined in a nice, easy meal: a chicken quesadilla with curried rice with diced tomato. If only I'd had a bit of guac, it would have been perfect.

(Oh, turns out there's also a butcher shop and an organic food store in the same block; I think I may end up spending a lot more time and money over there.)

All this and the bank almost deposited a check into someone else's account today. The adventure never ends!

(Browse: previous or next. Notes: post or read.)

sirilyan.diaryland.com | sirilyan dotcom
anything said in lowercase sounds profound. say it to me.

[fiendish tracking device]