sirilyan�dotcom > ( Personal | Articles | Links | Email ) sirilyan�dotcom
sirilyan.diaryland.com > ( Latest�entry | Archive | Profile )

But wait, there's more.

There's just no polite way to say "Buy me things", is there?

Join codebastards, I dare you. Remember, codebastards are us.

I'm baded and jitter. So are these people. (And why not follow the previous, next, or random links?)

Need a band name?

Doug vs. Japanese Snack Foods: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

rant is where the heart is

diaryland: sirilyan.diaryland.com: entry for 2001-06-29 (13:27:00)
In which our plucky young hero [pitches] in the woods.

For the first time in my life, I own a tent.

It's not the best tent - I don't think that any tent you buy at Canadian Tire for $29.95 can really qualify in the race toward bestness - but it is four feet high at the dome, it looks reasonably easy to pitch, and it'll be a roof over my head in Winnipeg.

Am I looking forward to camping for four days? No. I'm not really anticipating it, let alone anticipating it. But it will do me good to go out to the fresh air for a weekend and have with me only the things that pass this rigorous two-step examination:

1. In a gedanken experiment, immerse the object in a foot of water for ten minutes.

2. If I curse, cry, worry that I just threw away hundreds of dollars, or feel that my life may come to an end, leave the object at home.

This pretty much means that the electronics I normally carry with me on trips, the Palm IIIxe and the cell phone, will be sitting on the kitchen counter while I am gone. It will be the first time in a long while that I am unwired, unable to distract myself with electronics or check mail at the drop of a hat or find out what some guy in Sweden had for lunch.

That I'm looking forward to.

(You may recall my previous flirtations with the idea of going unwired. Well, Winnipeg isn't quite Glenwood Springs, but it's good enough to start with.)

I now own a tent. And I intend to use it.

(Browse: previous or next. Notes: post or read.)

sirilyan.diaryland.com | sirilyan dotcom
anything said in lowercase sounds profound. say it to me.

[fiendish tracking device]