sirilyan�dotcom > ( Personal | Articles | Links | Email ) sirilyan�dotcom
sirilyan.diaryland.com > ( Latest�entry | Archive | Profile )

But wait, there's more.

There's just no polite way to say "Buy me things", is there?

Join codebastards, I dare you. Remember, codebastards are us.

I'm baded and jitter. So are these people. (And why not follow the previous, next, or random links?)

Need a band name?

Doug vs. Japanese Snack Foods: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

rant is where the heart is

diaryland: sirilyan.diaryland.com: entry for 2001-05-24 (04:51:00)
In which our plucky young hero don't quite choose Hiroyuki Sakai.

Food experiments.

I'm not much of a chef - I pretty much stalled at the "open box, put contents of box in boiling water" stage of cooking - but I'm willing, today, to conduct some experiments. I took Jen to the grocery store with me and picked up yet more tomato-based and tomato-related products: primavera sauce, noodles, ground beef, some tortilla shells, mozzarella, and an onion.

(Yes, an onion. Singular. I well and truly learned my lesson about buying more than one onion at a time, thank you.)

I see at least three different types of meal in this cacophony of comestibles (that's some of the alliteration I learned about in the books on the writing, and I hope you're properly impressed).

First, I'm going to try to make a highly clever chili from something pretty close to scratch. Diced onion and tomatoes in ground beef, with all the right spices (garlic salt, chili powder, and maybe a bay leaf or two) and mozzarella sprinkled on top to fulfill my daily cheese requirement. If I were really clever, I might add green or red pepper, or perhaps a dash of soy sauce for inappropriate exoticness.

Second, the noodles plus the primavera sauce might just be part of a casserole, along with the other half of the onion. I've always been a big fan of casserole in all its artery-clogging glory, and now, it will be mine. Oh yes, it will be mine.

And finally, there's got to be something I can do with tortilla shells and leftover chili. I've already experimented with a very simple cheese wrap, and it was Not Too Bad. I may also pick up some bag salad for filler, and experiment with some diced chicken or beef.

This is nowhere near healthy, but hey, it beats the hell out of my entire food-making routine being "Two twelve, pepperoni and mushroom, here's my Visa."

Oh, and if anyone can suggest how tofu might fit into any of the above plans, let me know. I've got a block that I don't know what to do with.

(Browse: previous or next. Notes: post or read.)

sirilyan.diaryland.com | sirilyan dotcom
anything said in lowercase sounds profound. say it to me.

[fiendish tracking device]