sirilyan�dotcom > ( Personal | Articles | Links | Email ) sirilyan�dotcom
sirilyan.diaryland.com > ( Latest�entry | Archive | Profile )

But wait, there's more.

There's just no polite way to say "Buy me things", is there?

Join codebastards, I dare you. Remember, codebastards are us.

I'm baded and jitter. So are these people. (And why not follow the previous, next, or random links?)

Need a band name?

Doug vs. Japanese Snack Foods: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

rant is where the heart is

diaryland: sirilyan.diaryland.com: entry for 2001-01-26 (20:31:21)
In which our plucky young hero is just a boy with a dream.

There are more phone numbers than people in my apartment.

In fact, there are more televisions than people in my apartment.

These two facts make me wonder: there is an organization that has put together a worldwide non-event called TV Turnoff Week in order to deaden us to the glass cyclops, but nobody's bothered to organize Telephone Turnoff Week.

Speaking as someone who's spent entire weeks where the only time I see other people in person is when they are bringing me food and a credit card slip to sign, I can assure you that the telephone can be exactly as dehumanizing and sloth-provoking as the television. Screw this "essential utility" stuff. Clean water is essential. Walls and a roof are essential. Telephones are luxuries, just like teevee.

So, you know, let's make it happen. Telephone Turnoff Week, February 6 to 12, 2001. Don't just turn off the ringer. Yank the phone out of the wall. If you need to talk to someone, go visit. If you want to purchase pizza, go there and pick it up. If you feel the need to have complete strangers try to offer you things you know better than to buy, visit a Kia dealership.

This could really take off, folks. Contact me if you want more information. (And if I'm out, catch me on my cell phone.)

(Browse: previous or next. Notes: post or read.)

sirilyan.diaryland.com | sirilyan dotcom
anything said in lowercase sounds profound. say it to me.

[fiendish tracking device]